PROCEEDINGS OF THE BOARD MEETING OF THE LAKESHORE TECHNICAL COLLEGE DISTRICT BOARD LTC Cleveland, Lakeshore Conference Room

July 9, 2018

Board Present:Kluss, Lukas, Vasquez, Pohlman, Wyatt, RooneyBoard Absent:Trimberger, Hildebrandt, ParrishStaff Present:Carlsen (via Skype), Soodsma, Wasmer, Lemerond, Riesterer, Mirecki, Abts,
Carpenter, Robinson

Call to Order

The meeting of the Lakeshore Technical College District Board was called to order by Chair John Lukas at 3:02 p.m. It was reported that this meeting had been publicized in accordance with requirements of the Wisconsin Open Meeting Law.

Oath of Office

In accordance with Section 19.01 of the Wisconsin Statutes, a printed copy of the oath of office was given to Lois Vasquez who were sworn into office by Board Chair John Lukas. The document was signed and notarized.

Public Input

No public input was provided.

Connections

The Board discussed ways in which they connected with the College and the community.

Approval of Minutes

IT WAS MOVED BY ROY KLUSS AND SECONDED BY KIM ROONEY TO APPROVE THE MINUTES FOR THE JUNE 20, 2018 BOARD MEETING AS PRESENTED. Motion unanimously carried.

President's Update

President Paul Carlsen provided an update on LTC operations and his activities.

Organizational Business

John Lukas declared the meeting open for nominations for Board Officer Positions.

IT WAS MOVED BY DON POHLMAN AND SECONDED BY JOHN WYATT TO NOMINATE JOHN LUKAS, FOR LAKESHORE TECHNICAL COLLEGE BOARD CHAIR; ROY KLUSS FOR LAKESHORE TECHNICAL COLLEGE BOARD VICE-CHAIR; AND LOIS VASQUEZ FOR LAKESHORE TECHNICAL COLLEGE BOARD SECRETARY/TREASURER FOR 2018-19.

No other nominations where provided, IT WAS MOVED BY JOHN WYATT AND SECONDED BY KIM ROONEY TO CLOSE NOMINATIONS. Motion unanimously carried.

IT WAS MOVED BY JOHN WYATT AND SECONDED BY KIM ROONEY TO ELECT JOHN LUKAS FOR DISTRICT BOARD CHAIR; ROY KLUSS FOR LAKESHORE TECHNICAL COLLEGE BOARD VICE-CHAIR; AND LOIS VASQUEZ FOR LAKESHORE TECHNICAL COLLEGE BOARD SECRETARY/TREASURER FOR 2018-19. Motion unanimously carried. Lakeshore Technical College Board Officers remain the same for 2018-19, therefore there is no need to change signature plates.

A discussion was held regarding publication of legal notices and minutes and the associated costs. IT WAS MOVED BY ROY KLUSS AND SECONDED BY LOIS VASQUEZ TO DESIGNATE THE HERALD TIMES REPORTER AS THE OFFICIAL NEWSPAPER FOR 2018-19. Motion unanimously carried.

Board Representation

The following assignments were made to represent Lakeshore Technical College at tax incremental financing joint finance review board meeting(s) for 2018-19.

City/Town/Village	2018-19
Belgium	Jim Parrish, John Lukas
Cascade	Jim Parrish, John Lukas
Cleveland	Vicky Hildebrandt, John Lukas
Howards Grove	Roy Kluss, Don Pohlman
Kellnersville	Lois Vasquez, John Lukas
Kiel, Elkhart Lake	Vicky Hildebrandt, John Wyatt
Manitowoc, Two Rivers	Don Pohlman, John Lukas
Mishicot	Kim Rooney, John Lukas
Plymouth	John Wyatt, Vicky Hildebrandt
Oostburg	Jim Parrish, Don Pohlman
Random Lake	Jim Parrish, Mike Trimberger
St. Nazianz, Valders	Lois Vasquez, Kim Rooney
Sheboygan, Sheboygan Falls	Jim Parrish, Roy Kluss, Mike Trimberger
Whitelaw	Lois Vasquez, John Lukas

The following assignments were made to represent LTC on the Wisconsin Technical College District Boards Association standing committees for 2018-19.

DBA Committees	2018-19
Delegate to the Board of Directors	John Lukas, Roy Kluss
External Partnerships Committee	Jim Parrish, Vicky Hildebrandt, Don Pohlman
Internal Best Practices Committee	Jim Parrish, Kim Rooney, Lois Vasquez, John Lukas
Bylaws, Policies and Procedures Committee	John Wyatt, Lois Vasquez
Awards Committee	Roy Kluss

The following assignments were made to contact district legislators as needed in 2018-19.

Legislative Contacts	2018-19
Sen. Devin LeMahieu	Roy Kluss, Jim Parrish, Mike Trimberger,
	Don Pohlman
Sen. Duey Stroebel	Jim Parrish, Vicky Hildebrandt
Sen. Caleb Frostman	John Wyatt, John Lukas
Rep. Paul Tittl	Kim Rooney, Lois Vasquez, John Lukas
Rep. Terry Katsma	John Wyatt, Don Pohlman, Mike
	Trimberger
Rep. Tyler Vorpagel	Roy Kluss, Vicky Hildebrandt, Don
	Pohlman
Rep. Andre Jacque	Kim Rooney, Lois Vasquez, John Lukas
Rep. Jesse Kremer	Vicky Hildebrandt

Board Policy Review Schedule

Board members signed up to review board policies as outlined on the Board Policy Review Schedule.

Board members and President had an opportunity to identify items for future Board agendas.

Adjourn

IT WAS MOVED BY DON POHLMAN AND SECONDED BY ROY KLUSS TO ADJOURN. The motion was unanimously carried and the meeting was adjourned at 3:46 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Lois Vasquez Secretary/Treasurer